As the multiple capital (of the federal state, the French Community of Belgium, the Flemish Community and the Brussels-Capital Region), Brussels is also described as the political and administrative capital of the European Union. The Brussels-Capital Region, which is predominantly French-speaking but administratively bilingual (French-Dutch), comprises 19 municipalities, including the city of Brussels, and has a population of around 1 million. It is surrounded by a belt of Dutch-speaking municipalities where Flemish is also the official language for all administrative procedures. Six of these municipalities, known as 'easy' municipalities, have a special language status.

Skip to content